Does God Want Us To Be Perfect?

One of my spiritual gifts is “administration.” Ever since my early childhood, I’ve always wanted order in my life, whether it was a baseball card collection, coins, bugs, or whatever—collections always had to be in perfect order. God doesn’t always grant me that perfect order, of making perfection in worldly things, the way I want. God get’s to have His say in the matter, after all, He’s the Boss.

I’m a list person. Being a list person, I have lists for the lists. I have lists to keep track of the lists, that I use for other lists.  Sometimes life seems like one long list. Lists for the blogs, lists for the honey-do’s, lists of books I want to read, lists for books I’ve already read, lists for birthdays, genealogy lists (people, don’t go down that road); lists for lists of home repairs and home maintenance I should do (lists by month, lists by season, etc.); and on and on and on. It’s a full time job these lists!

I’m also a perfectionist. Most of the time those two characteristics butt heads; “administration” on one hand and “perfection” on the other; they don’t play too well together. Administrators need to get things organized and completed; they have to accomplish that goal and reach that destination. Perfection is like a friction force that opposes an administrator’s momentum. When an administrator tries to organize a project, perfection pours a barrel of sludge under the hood to gum up the engine. When things get out of order, perfectionists don’t make it to the finish line. Something had to give and it wasn’t going to be God. Seeking worldly perfection doesn’t fit with God’s plan.

Surely there is not a righteous man on earth who does good and never sins. (Ecclesiastes 7:20)

Administration, as a spiritual gift, when used for the Glory of God is a wonderful thing. Perfection, when used for the pride of man, can be controlling and debilitating. God is working in my life to eliminate that desire for worldly perfection. He’s opened my eyes to see that we should seek perfection through Christ, rather than in worldly pursuits. Will we wake up and pay attention? Will we follow the administrative plan God laid out for us, or will we continue to butt heads with worldly perfection? Perfection through Christ is God’s plan for His Children. God tells us to be perfect as He is perfect.

You therefore must be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect. (Matthew 5:48)

It’s clear to me that God’s way is the right way. When God’s way becomes my way, more things get done, more quickly. The lists get shorter and there’s more time remaining to blog for Jesus. Following God’s plan and turning over the controls of our life to Him is what He wants. By letting God help us make the lists, the things that we do will Glorify Him, and that’s what He wants us to do—glorify, praise, worship, and love God the Almighty. Amen!


Seek and ye shall find

